12th Asia-Oceania Group on Earth Observations (AOGEO) Symposium 2019

DATE: 2-4 November 2019
PLACE: Canberra, Australia

Register here
Register here

About the 12th AOGEO Symposium 2019

The 12th AOGEO Symposium will take place from Saturday 2 November to Monday 4 November 2019 in Canberra Australia, at University House at the Australian National University. This event will precede GEO Week 2019 including the Plenary and Ministerial.

The theme of the 12th AOGEO Symposium
Scaling up successful Earth Observation activities for all of Asia-Oceania  
Share the results and design the future steps for global agendas

The 12th symposium builds upon the growing momentum behind one of the Regional GEOs, AOGEO. It will share the results and design the future steps for three engagement priorities, namely the Sustainable Development Goals, the Sendai Framework on Disaster Risk Reduction and the Paris Agreement on Climate Change.


The AOGEO, previously named AOGEOSS, is a regional initiative of the Group on Earth Observations (GEO) co-led by Australia, China, Japan and Korea, with contribution from more than 10 countries in the region. AOGEO aims to establish an effective cooperation framework at the regional level and promote the Earth observation capacity of Asia-Oceania countries to confront the challenges which pose a risk to the attainment of sustainable development.

Week at a Glance

Task Group Schedule

12th AOGEO Symposium agenda

Download pdf version of agenda here


The venue shall be University House at the Australian National University. University House is conveniently located in the city. It’s only 8km from the Canberra airport and is easily accessible by car, taxi and public transportation.

Find more logistics information here