about us / governance / resources

About us

The Group on Earth Observations (GEO) established a new international Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) Working Group (WG) in June 2020. The DRR WG was created to develop and implement a coherent and crosscutting approach within GEO to advance the use of Earth observations (EO) in support of national disaster risk reduction and resilience efforts. It will promote awareness of relevant global policy frameworks, such as the United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNDRR) Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction 2015-2030 and UN-Global Geospatial Information Management (GGIM) WG-Disasters Strategic Framework on Geospatial Information and Services. It also serves as the primary GEO liaison to UNDRR. Furthermore, the work plan intends to increase the use of Earth observation data for achieving the Sendai Framework’s Global Target E, that aims to substantially increase the number of countries with national and local disaster risk reduction strategies. The work will show how Earth observation data and knowledge can complement data that governments already have to assess risk, and risk trends over time and to describe and visualize vulnerability and exposure. The DRR WG will also prioritize collaboration with other working groups across disaster risk reduction, climate action, sustainable development and urban resilience activities.


DRR Working Group Co-Chairs

Three co-chairs are elected, selected by and from the DRR-WG members, representing a balance of gender, geography, and generation. Each co-chair leads a designated subgroup and is supported by deputy chairs in their role.

David Borges

David Borges

Janet Edwards

Janet Edwards

Kene Onukwube

Kene Onukwube

Sub groups

The GEO DRR WG structure includes three Subgroups:

  • Subgroup 1: GEO Work Programme Coordination
  • Subgroup 2: UNDRR Coordination for Sendai Framework Priorities
  • Subgroup 3: Climate Change and Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) Coordination


Terms of Reference

The Terms of Reference will remain in effect for the period of the 2020-2022 GEO Work Programme. It may be revised with the approval of the Programme Board.

Working group members

Name Affiliation
Kene Onukwube - Co-Chair Nigeria
Janet Edwards - Co-Chair Sweden
David Borges - Co-Chair United States
Aliyu Abdullahi - Member ACCREC
Omowumi Rabiu - Member ACCREC
Paul Box - Member Australia
Markus Enenkel - Member Austria
Stella Melo - Member Canada
Nathaniel Newlands - Member Canada
Sergey Samsonov - Member Canada
David Green - Member CEOS
B. Ajay Kumar - Member CEOS
Amy Parker - Member CEOS
Kerry Sawyer - Member CEOS
Luis Donas - Member Chile
César Molina - Member Chile
Juan Piedra - Member Chile
Luis Felipe Robledo - Member Chile
Joselyn Robledo Ceballos - Member Chile
Suju Li - Member China
Glenn Newnham - Member CODATA
Diofantos Hadjimitsis - Member Cyprus
Mijail Arias - Member Ecuador
Patricia Carrillo Chimbo - Member Ecuador
Herminia Cornejo - Member Ecuador
Rosa Gardenia Cuesta Molestina - Member Ecuador
Gissela Diaz - Member Ecuador
Luis Dominguez - Member Ecuador
Maria Estrella - Member Ecuador
David Matamoros - Member Ecuador
Sandra Novoa Luque - Member Ecuador
Othoniel Palacios Celin - Member Ecuador
Jenny Rodrilguez - Member Ecuador
Marcelo Zuniga Salazar - Member Ecuador
Ryan Lanclos - Member Esri
Daniele Ehrlich - Member European Commission
Laurent Durieux - Member France
Alik Ismail-Zadeh - Member Germany
Laila Kühle - Member Germany
Fabian Löw - Member Germany
Amos Kabo Bah Tiereyangn - Member Ghana
Haris Kontoes - Member Greece
Allison Craddock - Member IAG
Ghulam Rasul - Member ICIMOD
Chiara Del Ventisette - Member Italy
Luigi Piccardi - Member Italy
Stefano Salvi - Member Italy
Mohsen Ghafory-Ashtiany - Member IUGG
Rui Kotani - Member Japan
Andrew Nyawade - Member Kenya
Sitraka Raoeliarivao - Member Madagascar
Nurfashareena Muhammad - Member Malaysia
Adnane Labbaci - Member Morocco
Carolina Adler - Member MRI
James Godstime - Member Nigeria
Ahmad Halilu - Member Nigeria
Taiwo Seun Ogunwumi - Member Nigeria
Bente Lilja Bye - Member Norway
Marie-Françoise Voidrot - Member OGC
Imran Khan - Member Pakistan
Martyna Gatkowska - Member Poland
Jakub Ryzenko - Member Poland
Gregory Yetman - Member SDSN
Fernando Belda Esplugues - Member Spain
Mario Andres Salgado - Member Spain
Nhilce Esquivel - Member Sweden
Susanne Ingvander - Member Sweden
Krystal Wilson - Member SWF
Tatiya Chuentragun - Member Thailand
Anusorn Rungsipanich - Member Thailand
Albert Momo - Member Trimble
Johnson Owaro - Member Uganda
John Martin Owor - Member Uganda
Rhea Katsanakis - Member UN
Stuart Marsh - Member United Kingdom
Cheila Cullen - Member United States
Fernando Echavarria - Member United States
John Labrecque - Member United States
Charlie Mandeville - Member United States
Roger Pulwarty - Member United States
Ramesh Singh - Member United States
Viet Ha Nhu - Member Vietnam
Hugo Wim - Member WDS
Farai Kuri - Member Zimbabwe
Anderson Muchawona - Member Zimbabwe
Sandra Delali Kemeh - GEO Sec Rep GEO Secretariat
Steven Ramage - GEO Sec Rep GEO Secretariat