Group On Earth Observations banner Group On Earth Observations banner

GEO Portal

  Click here to browse data and services on the GEOportal

The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee oversees GEO’s activities when the Plenary is not in session. The Committee consists of 13 representatives elected from the five GEO regions, including four from Asia/Oceania, three each from the Americas and Europe, two from Africa, and one from the Commonwealth of Independent States. These representatives are nominated by the regional caucuses. The Committee is also responsible for guiding the Secretariat.

The 13 Committee members for 2014 are:


  • Gabon
  • South Africa *


  • Argentina
  • Colombia
  • United States *


  • Australia
  • China *
  • Japan
  • Korea

Commonwealth of Independent States

  • Russian Federation


  • European Commission *
  • Estonia
  • Italy

* Co-chairs


The GEO Members elect four Members to serve as Co-Chairs. They preside over both the Plenary and the Executive Committee. The current Co-Chairs are represented by the following individuals:

  • Jianlin Cao, Vice-Minister, Ministry of Science and Technology (China)
  • Kathryn Sullivan, Acting Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere and Acting NOAA Administrator (United States)
  • Philemon Mjwara, Director-General, Department of Science and Technology (South Africa)
  • Robert-Jan Smits, Director-General, Directorate-General for Research and Innovation (European Commission)

Further details on how GEO functions can be found in the Rules of Procedure .