GEO Update

Africa data on the GEOSS Portal through RCMRD

Members of RCMRDMembers of RCMRD

Datasets from the Regional Centre for Mapping of Resources for Development (RCMRD) are now available on the GEOSS Portal. Information such as biodiversity in East Africa can now be accessed. A total of 308 new layers are now searchable and discoverable.

RCMRD was established in Nairobi – Kenya in 1975 under the auspices of the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA) and the then Organization of African Unity (OAU), today African Union (AU).

RCMRD is an inter-governmental organization and currently has 20 Contracting Member States in the Eastern and Southern Africa Regions; Botswana, Burundi, Comoros, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somali, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The GEOSS Portal has around 200 million datasets.

The RCMRD geoportal link to GEOSS is: