GEO logo
GEO logo
white middle piece of banner
GEO circles
Menu

GEO 2016 transitional Work Program

 

GEONETCast Development and Operations

Activity ID: 58

General description

Further develop GEONETCast – a distribution system for GEOSS information using communication satellites and low cost, off-the-shelf reception stations – and improve the service provided to Users.

Implementation approach and respective responsibilities

The task activities are implemented by a task Team, supported by the Secretariat.

a. Contributors (CMA, EUMETSAT, NOAA)

  1. Evolve GEONETCast into a fully operational global system disseminating data and products to the GEO community (including flagships, initiatives and community activities)
  2. Pursue the integration of the GEONETCast collections catalogue with the GEOSS Common Infrastructure
  3. Foster relationships with data providers and users to enhance data content in line with the evolving needs of users and decision-makers
  4. Expand interaction with networks of users in developing countries to improve access to data in areas with limited data accessibility. In particular, facilitate improved access to disaster information in developing countries through collaboration with key disaster management mechanisms, including the International Charter on Space and Major Disasters
  5. Enhance the integration of other existing or emerging satellite data distribution systems
  6. Expand the GEONETCast broadcast footprint over the Pacific region.
  7. Build capacity for using GEONETCast information, particularly in developing countries
  8. Develop GEONETCast Training Channels to (i) train end-users; and (ii) transmit training materials to local trainers.

b. GEO Secretariat

  1. Overarching coordination and GEONETCast configuration management including to maintain the GEONETCast documentations and the list of the GEONETCast Components and related representative persons
  2. Provide a service desk operation for User Communities and Stakeholders.
  3. Integrate GEONETCast performance measurement tracking and reporting capabilities

Planned outputs in 2016

Continue GEONETCast operations. Test options for truly global coverage. Develop and test a GEONETCast planning tool and a friendly User Interface (including a service desk). Develop a GEONETCast User Guide.

Task Team

CMACast Lead

China/CMA

Chunfang Wang

wangcf@cma.gov.cn

CMACast

CMACast backup

China/CMA

WANG Peng

wangpeng@cma.gov.cn

CMACast

EUMETCast Lead

EUMETSAT

Mike Williams

mike.williams@eumetsat.int

EUMETCast

EUMETCast Back-up

EUMETSAT

Sally Wannop

sally.wannop@eumetsat.int

EUMETCast

GEONETCast America Lead

US/NOAA

Eric Madsen

eric.madsen@noaa.gov

GEONETCast America

GEONETCast America Back-up

Brazil/INPE

Luiz Michado

luiz.machado@cptec.inpe.br

GEONETCast America

NOAA Back-up

US/NOAA

Paul Seymour

Paul.seymour@noaa.gov

GEONETCast America

INPE Back-up

Brazil/INPE

Diego Souza

diego.souza@cptec.inpe.br

GEONETCast America

Contributor

EC

Tim Jacobs

tim.jacobs@vito.be

 

Contributor

WMO

Mikael Rattenborg

Mikael@rattenborg.de

 

GEO Secretariat

 

Osamu Ochiai

Oochiai@geosec.org

 

Leads/Contributors (this list is being populated)

No data found...

 

Contact

Contact Us

e-mail: secretariat@geosec.org

phone: +41 22 730 8505

fax: +41 22 730 8520

Address

7 bis, avenue de la Paix
Case postale 2300
CH-1211 Geneva 2
Switzerland

Follow Us on

GEO Secretariat
7 bis, avenue de la Paix
Case postale 2300
CH-1211 Geneva 2
Switzerland

e-mail: secretariat@geosec.org
phone: +41 22 730 8505
fax: +41 22 730 8520