GEO logo
GEO logo
white middle piece of banner
GEO circles
Menu

GEO 2017-2019 Work Programmme

 

Capacity Building Coordination

Activity ID: 138

Overview

This task covers the coordination of the capacity building activities associated with the acquisition, processing and use of Earth Observation data and information for policy and decision-making. It includes the definition and use of clear mechanisms for identification of the “global CB offer”, its gaps and promotion of coordinated actions to address them.

The task will be implemented by a Capacity Building Working Group (CB-WG), supported by the Secretariat in order to facilitate linkages with other GEO activities.

Annual meetings will play a key role in accomplishing this task; in particular three annual events are planned:

A CB Symposium, which will assemble all major institutions active in CB programs, providing the opportunity to present their priorities, plans, and how they work; it will also be used to maintain the database on needs and resources;

A CB forum, which will assemble all CB component coordinators of the GEO Flagships and Initiatives; the CB-WG will engage with the Forum at least twice a year – nominally prior to the Work Programme Symposium and prior to Plenary;

The nature of the task implies the execution of “recurring activities” that can be summarized as follows:

  1. Undertake a baseline assessment of capacity building in GEO and an annual review of activities;
  2. Periodic review and update of the resource facility - the GEOCAB Portal - (relevance, maintenance and marketing);
  3. Periodic review of capacity building needs;
  4. Develop and maintain a database with resource providers, ongoing programmes and activities;
  5. Develop and maintain a calendar of capacity building events, and post it on the GEO website;
  6. Undertake brokering activities - match needs with capabilities; and
  7. Develop impact assessment – M&E – guidelines.

Activities for the period

2017 Deliverables

  1. GEO capacity building baseline assessment and annual review;
  2. Maintain resource facility (GEOCAb Portal);
  3. Two meetings of the CB Working Group;
  4. Two meetings of the Capacity Building Forum (with participation of GEO Initiatives and Flagships Representatives);
  5. GEO Capacity Building Symposium;
  6. Capacity building database with resource providers, ongoing programmes and activities;
  7. Calendar of training activities;
  8. Brokered activities - match needs with capabilities; and
  9. Annual report on capacity building needs and activities in GEO.

Future Plans

The Task consists of rolling activities.

Resources

In kind contributions (CB-WG)

GEO Trust Fund (Secretariat support)

Secretariat Support

  • Assist  CB-WG will all activities and Community engagement;
  • Review GEO Work Programme for CB activities and establish CB Forum; and
  • Maintain databases and calendar of CB events.

Andiswa Mlisa, (GEO Secretariat) - amlisa@geosec.org

Leadership & Contributors (this list is being populated)

Role

Name

Member/PO

Implementing Entity

Email

Co-Chair

Mark Noort

Netherlands

HCP International

m.noort@hcpinternational.com

Co-Chair

Nancy Searby

United States

NASA

nancy.d.searby@nasa.gov

Co-Chair

Freek Van Der Meer

ITC

ITC

f.d.vandermeer@utwente.nl

Contributor

Hilcéa Ferreira

Brazil

INPE

hilcea.ferreira@inpe.br

Contributor

Lucia Lovison-Golob

Chile

n/a

lucia.lovison@gmail.com

Contributor

Jean-Christophe Desconnets

France

IRD

jean-christophe.desconnets@ird.fr

Contributor

Yaniss Guigoz

Switzerland

n/a

yaniss.guigoz@unepgrid.ch

Contributor

Angelica Gutierrez-Magness

United States

NOAA

angelica.gutierrez@noaa.gov

Contributor

Eric Wood

United States

USGS

woodec@usgs.gov

Contributor

Simon Hodson

CODATA

CODATA

simon@codata.org

Contributor

Sophie Seeyave

POGO

POGO

ssve@pml.ac.uk

Contributor

Luca Delloro

UNITAR

UNITAR

luca.delloro@unitar.org

Contributor

Joerg Szarzynski

UNU-EHS

UN University

szarzynski@ehs.unu.edu

Contributor

Rohini Swaminathan

WHO

WHO

rohini.s.swaminathan@gmail.com

GEO Sec Rep

Andiswa Mlisa

GEO Secretariat

GEO

amlisa@sansa.org.za

 

 

Contact Us

e-mail: secretariat@geosec.org

phone: +41 22 730 8505

fax: +41 22 730 8520

Address

7 bis, avenue de la Paix
Case postale 2300
CH-1211 Geneva 2
Switzerland

Follow Us on

GEO Secretariat
7 bis, avenue de la Paix
Case postale 2300
CH-1211 Geneva 2
Switzerland

e-mail: secretariat@geosec.org
phone: +41 22 730 8505
fax: +41 22 730 8520