GEO logo
GEO logo
white middle piece of banner
GEO circles
Menu

GEO 2017-2019 Work Program

 

Advancing GEOSS Data Sharing Principles

Activity ID: 132

Overview

Continue promoting free, full, open and timely access to Earth observation datasets, products and services. Maintain dialogue with Governments and support the up-take and implementation of the GEOSS Data Sharing Principles by GEO Members and Participating Organizations.  Raise awareness of the technical, organizational, and resource implications of implementing the GEOSS Data Sharing Principles. This will result in activities along the following lines:

  • Update implementation guidelines on Data Sharing Principles that underpin the quality of available data, information and tools and support their integrated use;
  • Track international Open Data trends and continue to evolve the next generation of Data Sharing Principles as necessary;
  • Analyze and advocate the benefits of Data Sharing. Raise global awareness, including in developing countries, about the value of free and open datasets, products and services provided through GEOSS, particularly in support of measuring and monitoring the SDGs;
  • Promote national coordinating mechanisms for implementing the Data Sharing Principles Post-2015 and monitor data sharing progress by GEO Member governments;
  • Analyze Data Commons in GEO SBAs that enable data sharing across various SBAs. Address legal interoperability of datasets across various SBAs, through recommended mechanisms to share data as part of GEOSS DataCORE or compatible open licenses; and
  • Monitor, interpret, and adjust use metrics to gauge the utilization of shared resources and their value to both data providers and data users, within and across SBAs.

The activities will be performed by a dedicated Working Group, coordinated by the GEO Secretariat.

Activities for the period

  • Finalize Implementation Guidelines for Data Sharing Principles for GEO Plenary approval;
  • Prepare Action Plan for Data Sharing based on statistical trends for data supply and use via GEOSS and the GEOSS Data-CORE;
  • Prepare data sharing progress report to the GEO Plenary, with assistance by national contacts reporting on data sharing activities;
  • Maintain a living document on international open data trends;
  • Maintain a document or a webpage of stories on the benefits of data sharing; and
  • Hold regional data sharing workshops, campaigning on the benefits of data sharing, and building capacities on Data Sharing Principles up-take and implementation.

Deliverables for 2017

  • Revised Implementation Guidelines for Data Sharing Principles;
  • National Data Sharing Progress Report;
  • Living document on international open data trends;
  • Living document or webpage on the benefits of data sharing; and
  • A Regional workshop on data sharing.

Future Plans

To be developed in 2017.

Resources

GEO Trust Fund (Secretariat Staff).

In kind (contributors)

Leadership

Working Group Co-Chairs

David Halpern

COSPAR

COSPAR

david.halpern@jpl.nasa.gov

Michel Schouppe

EC

EC

michel.schouppe@ec.europa.eu

Robert Chen

ICSU

ICSU

bchen@ciesin.columbia.edu

Simon Hodson

CODATA

CODATA

simon@codata.org

Zipho Tyoda

RSA

DST-ZA

zipho.tyoda@dst.gov.za  

Greg Withee

US

USGS

gwithee@msn.com

Contributors

  1. Working Group Members

Baden Appleyard

Australia

AusGOAL

b.appleyard@ausgoal.gov.au

Fraser Taylor

Canada

Carleton University

frasertaylor@cunet.carleton.ca

Guoqing Li

China

RADI/CAS

ligq@radi.ac.cn

Chuang Liu

China

IGSNRR/CAS

lchuang@igsnrr.ac.cn

Kerry Sawyer

CEOS

CEOS

kerry.sawyer@noaa.gov

Mariel Borowitz

CODATA

CODATA

mariel.borowitz@inta.gatech.edu

Paul Uhlir

CODATA

CODATA

pfuhlir@gmail.com

Puneet Kishor

CODATA

CODATA

punk.kish@gmail.com

Miles Gabriel

EC

EC

gary.holmes@assimila.eu

Jose Miguel Rubio Iglesias

EC

EC

jose-miguel.rubio-iglesias@ec.europa.eu

Sergio Albani

EU SatCen

EU SatCen

sergio.albani@satcen.europa.eu

Athanasia Tsertou

Greece

ICCS

atsertou@iccs.gr

Camilo Garcia

ICSU

ICSU ROLAC

camilo.garcia@icsu-latin-america-caribbean.org

Manuel Limonta

ICSU

ICSU ROLAC

manuel.limonta@icsu-latin-america-caribbean.org

Steven Browdy

IEEE

IEEE

steveb@omstech.com

Nico Bonora

Italy

ISPRA

nico.bonora@isprambiente.it

Remi Chandran

ITC

ITC

remichandran007@gmail.com
r.chandran@utwente.nl

Francois Robida

IUGS

BRGM

f.robida@brgm.fr

Masatoshi Kamei

Japan

RESTEC

kamei@restec.or.jp

Daisuke Saisho

Japan

JAXA

saisho.daisuke@jaxa.jp

Ambinintsoa Noasilalaonomenjanahary

Madagascar

MEEFT

noasilalao@meeft.gov.mg

Frank Lantsheer

Netherlands

KNMI

frank.lantsheer@knmi.nl

Ganiyu Agbaje

Nigeria

NASRDA

gagbaje@yahoo.co.uk ,

Miles Gabriel

United Kingdom

Gabriel Information Solutions Ltd

milesgabriel@geois.co.uk

Kevin Murphy

United States

NASA

kevin.j.murphy@nasa.gov

Reid Sherman

United States

NASA

reid.a.sherman@nasa.gov

Michael Tanner

United States

NOAA

michael.tanner@noaa.gov

Eldrich Frazier

United States

USGS

efrazier@usgs.gov

Ivan DeLoatch

United States

USGS

Ideloatch@usgs.gov

  1. National contact points for data sharing

GEO Secretariat requested GEO Principals to name national contact points for data sharing (25 August 2016).

Secretariat Support:

  • Overall coordination of the task;
  • Data sharing point of contact to the external world; and
  • Promotion and extension of GEOSS DataCORE

Wenbo Chu (GEO Secretariat):  wchu@geosec.org

Leadership & Contributors (this list is being populated)

No data found...

 

 

Contact Us

e-mail: secretariat@geosec.org

phone: +41 22 730 8505

fax: +41 22 730 8520

Address

7 bis, avenue de la Paix
Case postale 2300
CH-1211 Geneva 2
Switzerland

Follow Us on

GEO Secretariat
7 bis, avenue de la Paix
Case postale 2300
CH-1211 Geneva 2
Switzerland

e-mail: secretariat@geosec.org
phone: +41 22 730 8505
fax: +41 22 730 8520